Colorado State Plumbing Board administers plumber licensing in Colorado. Every figure below is verified against the board’s own official pages and dated. Who must personally hold a credential — the contractor, the business, or the individual worker — is set out under Requirements.

What it’s called

Colorado licenses individual tradespeople through the Colorado State Plumbing Board (DORA Division of Professions and Occupations). Key credential designations include: (1) ‘Journeyworker Plumber’ – the term replaced ‘Journeyman Plumber’ in the practice act under HB24-1344, effective July 1, 2025; both refer to the same license tier (code ‘JP’). (2) ‘Residential Plumber’ (code ‘RP’) – limited to one- to four-family dwellings not more than two stories above ground (C.R.S. 12-155-103(13)). (3) ‘Master Plumber’ (code ‘MP’) – the highest individual credential; the Guide says it “allows you to perform all plumbing work”; a plumbing contractor must be or employ one. (4) ‘Plumbing Apprentice’ (code ‘AP’) – mandatory registration for unlicensed individuals employed in the trade. (5) ‘Plumbing Contractor’ (code ‘PC’) – the business registration. (6) ‘Water Conditioning Installer / Principal / Contractor’ (codes ‘WI’, ‘WP’, ‘WC’) – registrations for water conditioning appliance work.

License types & fees

TypeExperienceExamFee
Registered Plumbing Apprentice (AP)Entry-level credential. The Plumbing Licensing Guide lists basic eligibility: be at least 18 years of age, possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent, have a valid driver's license, and have a Social Security Card. Under C.R.S. 12-155-108(2)(a), apprentices "shall, within thirty days after the date of initial employment, be registered with the board"; the employer is responsible for the registration (12-155-108(2)(b)). DPO: "Any individual employed in the plumbing trade is considered an apprentice and must be registered until such time as the individual has obtained a Colorado Plumber's license." The apprentice works under the supervision of a licensed plumber at the job site, and "One licensed journeyworker plumber, master plumber, or residential plumber shall not supervise more than three plumbing apprentices at the same job site" (C.R.S. 12-155-124(1)). By July 1 each year, registered plumbing contractors and registered apprenticeship programs report each apprentice's cumulative practical training hours to the board (12-155-124(3)). Long-term apprentices must test: see the exam field and the 'Mandatory testing for long-term registered apprentices' requirement.None for initial registration. Under C.R.S. 12-155-124(4) (contingent on available department resources or gifts, grants and donations), an apprentice registered for at least six years must take the license examination at least every two years in alignment with the license renewal cycle until passing: (4)(a)(I) covers apprentices who have completed 6,800 hours of practical training and meet all other license requirements; (4)(b) covers apprentices registered six years or more who do NOT meet the license requirements, who must still test every two years and, after passing, meet all other requirements before a license issues.$30 registration fee ("currently $30", Plumbing Licensing Guide); the fee requirement is C.R.S. 12-155-108(2)(c): "No apprentice shall be registered until payment of a registration or registration renewal fee, as determined by the board, has been made." DPO: "There is no fee for notifying the Board that an apprentice has been terminated."
Residential Plumber (RP)Two years (3,400 hours) of practical experience: DPO Applications page "You must verify 2 years (3,400 hours) of practical experience"; Rule 1.4(A)(3)(f)(1) "Residential Plumber 3,400"; C.R.S. 12-155-110(1)(a) caps the experience the board may require at 3,400 hours. A graduate of a board-approved community college or trade school plumbing program "receives one year of work experience credit" (12-155-110(1)(b)(I)); other academic training, including military training, is credited by a uniform ratio set by rule (12-155-110(1)(b)(II)): Rule 1.4(A)(3)(d) one hour of classroom training equals one hour of on-the-job training up to one year (2,000 hours), and Rule 1.4(A)(3)(e) one month for every six months of military training or experience up to one year. Experience is documented on Affidavit of Experience forms; Rule 1.4(A)(3)(g): "Applicants cannot verify their own experience." SCOPE: C.R.S. 12-155-103(13) defines a residential plumber as one qualified "to install plumbing and equipment in one-, two-, three-, and four-family dwellings, which dwellings must not extend more than two stories aboveground." Rule 1.4(H): "Residential Plumbers must maintain an apprentice registration when working on commercial jobs and be supervised accordingly."Residential Plumber Examination through PSI Services LLC: "The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a 240-minute time limit. A score of 70% (70 correct items) is required to pass" (Plumbing Licensing Guide). The Guide says to study the IPC and IRC as adopted by Colorado ("currently the 2018 editions are referenced for exams"). The PSI candidate handbook gives the exam fee (DPO Applications page); no DPO page or rule states the amount. DPO: "Examinations are administered in English only through a private testing agency." The Guide says the exam "is typically open-book." Sequence: 3 CCR 720-1 Rule 1.4(A)(1) (rules effective 08/14/2026) says "Candidates must pass the required examination(s) before submitting an application to the Board with the required experience and education," and DPO's online application previews say "You must have taken and passed the Residential Plumber examination administered by PSI Exams before submitting this application." DPO's Applications page and its May 2025 Plumbing Licensing Guide still describe approval first (Applications page: "Once your application has been approved by this office, a letter of acceptance and information on how to contact PSI to obtain a candidate handbook will be provided"). The rule is the binding text; the board's own pages disagree with it.$100 application fee and $100 renewal fee (Plumbing Licensing Guide: "currently $100"; renewal "Residential: $100"). Fees are set under C.R.S. 12-155-110(1)(c) and 12-20-105.
Journeyworker Plumber (JP)Four years (6,800 hours) of practical experience: Rule 1.4(A)(3)(f)(2) "Journeyworker Plumber 6,800"; DPO: "The maximum experience the board requires for an applicant to qualify to receive a Journeyworker Plumber's license is 4 years (6,800 hours) of practical experience." The Guide says this "can include your residential plumbing experience." Education and military credit as for the Residential Plumber (12-155-110(1)(b); Rule 1.4(A)(3)(d)-(e)). The Affidavit of Experience is signed by "the master plumber for, or a signatory authority of, the plumbing contractor, or employer" (Rule 1.4(A)(3)(c)); "Applicants cannot verify their own experience" (Rule 1.4(A)(3)(g)). The title changed from 'journeyman' to 'journeyworker' under HB24-1344, effective July 1, 2025.Journeyworker Plumber Examination through PSI Services LLC: "The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a 240-minute time limit. A score of 70% (70 correct items) is required to pass" (Plumbing Licensing Guide). The Guide lists topics including water supply, vents, fixtures, piping support, traps, storm drainage, sanitary drainage, indirect/special waste, and isometric analysis, studied from the IPC and IRC as adopted by Colorado. The PSI candidate handbook gives the exam fee (DPO Applications page); no DPO page or rule states the amount. DPO: "Examinations are administered in English only through a private testing agency." The Guide says the exam "is typically open-book." Sequence: 3 CCR 720-1 Rule 1.4(A)(1) (rules effective 08/14/2026) says "Candidates must pass the required examination(s) before submitting an application to the Board with the required experience and education," and DPO's online application previews say "You must have taken and passed the Journeyworker Plumber examination administered by PSI Exams before submitting this application." DPO's Applications page and its May 2025 Plumbing Licensing Guide still describe approval first (Applications page: "Once your application has been approved by this office, a letter of acceptance and information on how to contact PSI to obtain a candidate handbook will be provided"). The rule is the binding text; the board's own pages disagree with it.$120 application fee and $120 renewal fee (Plumbing Licensing Guide: "currently $120"; renewal "Journeyworker: $120"). Fees are set under C.R.S. 12-155-110(1)(c) and 12-20-105.
Master Plumber (MP)Five full-time years (8,500 hours) of practical experience: DPO "An applicant for a master plumber's license must furnish evidence of having obtained five full-time years (8,500 hours) of practical experience"; Rule 1.4(A)(3)(f)(3) "Master Plumber 8,500". The Guide: "This includes all prior experience." The Affidavit of Experience is signed by "the master plumber for, or a signatory authority of, the plumbing contractor, or employer" (Rule 1.4(A)(3)(c)); "Applicants cannot verify their own experience" (Rule 1.4(A)(3)(g)). DPO's Licensing Guide says a Master Plumber license allows the holder to perform all plumbing work, including supervising and training apprentices, and that it is, as a general rule, required to register as a plumbing contractor for someone who plans to own a business. A plumbing contractor must either be, or employ full-time, a master plumber (C.R.S. 12-155-108(3)).Master Plumber Examination through PSI Services LLC: "The exam consists of 120 multiple-choice questions with a 270-minute time limit. A higher score of 75% (84 correct items) is required to pass" (Plumbing Licensing Guide). The Guide: the exam "is the most comprehensive, covering all aspects of the IPC and IRC, including advanced topics and supervisory knowledge." The PSI candidate handbook gives the exam fee (DPO Applications page); no DPO page or rule states the amount. DPO: "Examinations are administered in English only through a private testing agency." The Guide says the exam "is typically open-book." Sequence: 3 CCR 720-1 Rule 1.4(A)(1) (rules effective 08/14/2026) says "Candidates must pass the required examination(s) before submitting an application to the Board with the required experience and education," and DPO's online application previews say "You must have taken and passed the Master Plumber examination administered by PSI Exams before submitting this application." DPO's Applications page and its May 2025 Plumbing Licensing Guide still describe approval first (Applications page: "Once your application has been approved by this office, a letter of acceptance and information on how to contact PSI to obtain a candidate handbook will be provided"). The rule is the binding text; the board's own pages disagree with it.$140 application fee and $140 renewal fee (Plumbing Licensing Guide: "currently $140"; renewal "Master: $140"). Fees are set under C.R.S. 12-155-110(1)(c) and 12-20-105.
Plumbing Contractor (PC) (Business Registration)Registration required to operate as a plumbing contractor: C.R.S. 12-155-108(3) "A person shall not operate as a plumbing contractor until the contractor has obtained registration from the board," on payment of the fee and evidence of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment compensation laws. The contractor "must either be, or employ full-time, a master plumber, who shall be in charge of the supervision of all plumbing work performed by the contractor. A master plumber shall not be responsible for more than one plumbing contractor at a time." The Guide: "The master plumber and company owner (if separate individuals) must sign an Acknowledgment of Responsibility Form." Insurance amounts come from the Guide only (not the statute or rules): "Property Damage Insurance (minimum $100,000) General Liability Coverage (minimum $300,000) Workers' Compensation Insurance (if you have employees)". If the contractor loses its master plumber it has "twenty days in which to hire another master plumber" before being placed in "Need Master Hire-Cannot Practice" status (Rule 1.4(I)); a temporary master permit may be issued to finish a current project if the contractor has a journeyworker plumber full-time (12-155-117(4)).None for the business entity registration. The qualifying Master Plumber of record must hold an active Master Plumber license gained by passing the Colorado Master Plumber examination or approved endorsement.Registration fee set by the board under C.R.S. 12-155-105 (12-155-108(3)). The amount is not stated in DPO's Plumbing Licensing Guide (May 2025) or in the State Plumbing Board rules (3 CCR 720-1).
Water Conditioning Registrations (Contractor, Installer, Principal)Specialized registrations authorized under C.R.S. 12-155-108(4), (5), and (6) for individuals and contractors whose work is restricted to the installation, servicing, and repair of water conditioning appliances (water softeners, conditioners, and filters). Licensed residential, journeyworker, and master plumbers are statutorily permitted to perform water conditioning work without holding these specialized registrations (C.R.S. 12-155-108(1)(b)).No board examination is described. Installers and principals register on proof of certification "by a national water conditioning association recognized by the board" (C.R.S. 12-155-108(5), (6)(a)). Rule 1.4(A)(4)(a)(2): an installer "shall possess and maintain an active Certified Installer (CI) certification from the Water Quality Association or an equivalent certification as approved by the Plumbing Board"; Rule 1.4(A)(4)(b)(2): a principal holds an active CI plus an active Certified Water Specialist (CWS) or Master Water Specialist (MWS) certification from the Water Quality Association, or a board-approved equivalent. A water conditioning contractor must be or employ full time a water conditioning principal (Rule 1.4(A)(4)(c)).Registration fees are set by the board ("upon payment of the fee as provided in section 12-155-105", C.R.S. 12-155-108(4)-(6)); amounts not published on DPO's plumbing pages.

Who does NOT need this license — exemptions

Colorado’s statutory plumbing exemptions are codified at C.R.S. 12-155-118:

  1. Material Suppliers: (1) Any person selling or dealing in plumbing materials or supplies, but not engaged in the installation, alteration, repairing, or removal of plumbing, is not required to employ or have a licensed plumber in charge.

  2. Property Owners and Routine Maintenance: (2) Nothing in Article 155 requires an individual to hold a license to perform plumbing work on the individual’s own property or residence or prevents a person from employing an individual on either a full- or part-time basis to do routine repair, maintenance, and replacement of sinks, faucets, drains, showers, tubs, toilets, and domestic appliances and equipment equipped with backflow preventers; EXCEPT THAT, if such property or residence is intended for sale or resale by a person engaged in the business of constructing or remodeling structures, or is rental property that is occupied or to be occupied by tenants for lodging (transient or permanent), or is a commercial or industrial building, the owner is responsible for and the property is subject to the provisions of Article 155 pertaining to licensing, unless specifically exempted therein.

  3. Manufactured Housing: (3) The manufacture of housing subject to Title 24, Article 32, or the installation of individual residential or temporary construction units of manufactured housing water and sewer hookups inspected under C.R.S. 12-155-105(2).

  4. Backflow Prevention Devices (Amended by HB25-1077, March 28, 2025): (4) Individuals who are engaged in inspecting, testing, or repairing backflow prevention devices are EXEMPT from licensure under Article 155. Individuals who engage in the installation or removal of backflow prevention devices are NOT exempt, except when installing or replacing a backflow device on a stand-alone fire suppression system pursuant to C.R.S. 24-33.5-1202(6).

  5. Federal Employees: (5) Employees of the federal government performing plumbing work on federal property.

  6. Appliances, Mechanical Systems, and Municipal Infrastructure: (6)(a) No plumbing license, registration, or permit is required for: (I) Installation, extension, alteration, or maintenance (including related water and indirect waste piping) of domestic appliances equipped with backflow preventers, including lawn sprinkler systems; residential ice makers, humidifiers, electrostatic filter washers, or water heating appliances; building heating appliances and systems; fire protection systems except for multipurpose residential fire sprinkler systems in one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses that are part of the potable water supply; air conditioning installations; process and industrial equipment and piping systems; or indirect drainage systems not a part of a sanitary sewer system; or (II) Repair and replacement of garbage disposals and dishwashers directly connected to sanitary sewers, including necessary tail pipes and traps; or routine repair, maintenance, and replacement of sinks, faucets, drains, showers, tubs, and toilets. (6)(b) Notwithstanding (6)(a), ‘plumbing’ does not include: (I) installations, extensions, improvements, remodeling, additions, and alterations in water and sewer systems owned or acquired by counties (Title 30, Article 20), cities and towns (Title 31, Article 35), or water and sanitation districts (Title 32, Article 1 or 4); (II) installations, extensions, improvements, remodeling, additions, and alterations performed by contractors employed by counties, cities, towns, or water and sewer districts that connect to the plumbing system within a property line; or (III) performance, location, construction, alteration, installation, and use of on-site wastewater treatment systems under Title 25, Article 10 that are located within a property line.

Fees

Amounts from DPO’s Plumbing Licensing Guide (May 2025), the only DPO source that states them (DPO publishes no plumbing fee page; the rules say fees are established under C.R.S. 12-20-105): Registered Plumbing Apprentice (AP): $30 registration fee (“currently $30”); no fee for notifying the Board that an apprentice has been terminated (DPO). Residential Plumber (RP): $100 application fee; $100 renewal fee. Journeyworker Plumber (JP): $120 application fee; $120 renewal fee. Master Plumber (MP): $140 application fee; $140 renewal fee. Plumbing Contractor (PC) and water conditioning registrations: fee set by the board under 12-155-105; the amount is not stated in DPO’s Plumbing Licensing Guide (May 2025) or in the State Plumbing Board rules. Examination fee: stated in the PSI candidate handbook (DPO); not published by DPO. Late renewal: Rule 1.4(E)(1)(a) allows a sixty-day grace period after expiration in which a delinquency fee is charged; after that, reinstatement requires a reinstatement application and “the current reinstatement fee” (Rule 1.4(E)(2)).

Exam

Colorado plumbing examinations are administered through PSI Services LLC (Plumbing Licensing Guide; DPO application previews). DPO Applications page: “Questions are based on the currently adopted codes, namely, the International Plumbing Code (IPC), the International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC), and the Rules and Regulations as adopted by the Examining Board of Plumbers”; the Guide tells Residential candidates to study the IPC and IRC (“currently the 2018 editions are referenced for exams”). Format and pass marks (Guide): Residential Plumber 100 multiple-choice questions, 240 minutes, 70% (70 correct items); Journeyworker Plumber 100 questions, 240 minutes, 70% (70 correct items); Master Plumber 120 questions, 270 minutes, 75% (84 correct items). DPO: “An overall score of 70% is required to pass the written portion of the examination for Residential and Journeyworker examinees, 75% is required for the Master examinee. Your results will indicate either pass or fail.” The Guide says the exam “is typically open-book, allowing you to reference approved code books.” Language: DPO says “Examinations are administered in English only through a private testing agency.” Fee: set out in the PSI candidate handbook (DPO); no DPO page or rule states the amount. Sequence: 3 CCR 720-1 Rule 1.4(A)(1) (rules effective 08/14/2026) says “Candidates must pass the required examination(s) before submitting an application to the Board with the required experience and education,” and DPO’s online application previews say “You must have taken and passed the Master Plumber examination administered by PSI Exams before submitting this application.” DPO’s Applications page and its May 2025 Plumbing Licensing Guide still describe approval first (Applications page: “Once your application has been approved by this office, a letter of acceptance and information on how to contact PSI to obtain a candidate handbook will be provided”). The rule is the binding text; the board’s own pages disagree with it. (Master Plumber preview; the Residential and Journeyworker previews say the same of their exams.)

Renewal & continuing education

Currently biennial: DPO “All Plumbing Licenses, Water Conditioning Installer/Principal Registrations, Plumbing Contractor Registrations and Water Conditioning Contractor Registrations expire on the final day of February of odd-numbered years and must be renewed to continue practicing.” Renewal window: DPO’s Applications page says “renewals open approximately 4-5 weeks prior to the expiration date”; the Guide says “You can typically renew up to six weeks before the expiration date.” TRANSITION: C.R.S. 12-155-112(1)(a) (HB24-1344): “Beginning with the plumbing license cycle that begins on March 1, 2027, and each subsequent license cycle thereafter, the board shall issue and renew plumbing licenses for a period of three years unless otherwise determined by the director.” Grace period: “A licensee or registrant shall have a sixty-day grace period after the expiration of the license or registration to renew” with a delinquency fee (Rule 1.4(E)(1)(a)). Reinstatement more than sixty days but less than two years after expiration: reinstatement application, reinstatement fee, and evidence of the continuing education required by Rule 1.4(E)(3) (Rule 1.4(E)(2)(a); 12-155-112(2)(c)). Expired two or more years: C.R.S. 12-155-112(2)(b) requires the person to demonstrate competency by “(I) Providing verification of a license in good standing from another state and proof of active practice in that state for the year previous to the date of receipt of the reinstatement application; (II) Satisfactorily passing the state plumbing examination in accordance with section 12-155-110; or (III) Any other means approved by the board.” Rule 1.4(E)(2)(b) lists four routes: passing the State plumbing examination; verification of an active, substantially equivalent license in another state plus proof of active practice for the year before the application; “Holding an active Colorado plumbing license that is more advanced that the license to be reinstated”; or other means approved by the Board. The Guide states only the exam route (“Take and pass the full licensing examination BEFORE applying for reinstatement”). 8 hours of continuing education per licensure year. DPO: “All Residential, Journeyworker, and Master Plumbers with an Active Colorado license must complete at least 8 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during EACH YEAR (March 1 through February 28) of the two-year license period”; the Guide says “16 hours of continuing education every two-year licensing cycle (8 hours each year).” Statute: C.R.S. 12-155-112(3)(a) (“eight hours of continuing education for every twelve months” since the later of the last renewal or reinstatement; not applicable to the first renewal after licensure by examination). Rule 1.4(E)(3)(d)(1): hours are chosen from the listed core competencies, “except that, within every twenty-four month period, a minimum of four (4)” “continuing education hours must be related to codes as defined in Board Rule 1.2 and a maximum of two (2) hours can be related to safety training.” Code attestation: “Licensees must attest upon renewal that they have read the current Colorado Plumbing Code” (DPO; Rule 1.4(E)(3)(d)(2)). First renewal: “Plumbers who received their initial license through the examination method during the current license period are not required to complete CE until after the first renewal of their license” (DPO). Multiple licenses: CE for the most advanced license satisfies all lesser licenses (Rule 1.4(E)(3)(h)). Providers: DPO “ALL CE COURSES must be taken through a CE vendor or provider that has attested to the Board that their courses and instructors meet the continuing education requirements of Board Rule.” Records: “Licensees must maintain their own CE records for at least six years” (DPO; Rule 1.4(E)(3)(f)(2)); documentation is submitted only if requested (audit). Water conditioning installers and principals are not subject to the CE rule (Rule 1.4(E)(3)(d)(4)). From March 1, 2027, the license period lengthens: C.R.S. 12-155-112(1)(a) says that “Beginning with the plumbing license cycle that begins on March 1, 2027, and each subsequent license cycle thereafter, the board shall issue and renew plumbing licenses for a period of three years unless otherwise determined by the director.” The statutory rate in 12-155-112(3)(a) is “eight hours of continuing education for every twelve months”.

How to apply

Applications are handled by Colorado State Plumbing Board. Start at the official application page .